9-1-Holey Sh*t!

You’d think I wouldn’t be surprised anymore to the type of situations people find themselves in or *cough* usually, put themselves in. Never the less; I sit and wait in front of the glow of eight computer screens in the wee hours of the morning for the phone to ring and the radio to squelch.

CALLS
The Good: Neighbor calling in reference to being worried about the elderly subject down the street. The neighbor would religiously walk the dog in the morning and watch tv in the evening and they haven’t seen the person all day. Concerned something unfortunate might have happen // Subjects is all set. Was with family all day. Kudos to the caller for being observant and being concerned!
The Bad: Two snowmobiles collide on a remote trail. Patient fell off the sled into some water, bleeding and unconscious. Caller had to leave the patient to call for help. Responders are a minimum of thirty plus minutes out.
The Ugly: The ‘frequent flyer’ calls in about the certain family members that are fighting, obtained weapons and intoxicated … again.

One will never know what will be on the other end of the phone or radio.

JOB
The Good: “My” People. The responders are my responsibility. They are my second family. I make sure they go home at the end of the shift. Hearing those familiar chipper voices makes me happy!
The Bad: I will never be rolling in the dough and rarely receive a thank you.
The Ugly: Majority of the contacts we have with the public are from ungrateful, disrespectful and flat out nasty people.

It’s a fast pace, you have one chance to get this right, type your fingers off, bark at your co-workers, talk to three people at once, 10-74, answer that darn phone … kinda world.

 


Sometimes all you can say is, it happens:

  • I’ve answered the phone ‘Hi [JohnDoe]’ to a frequent flyer instead of ‘911 whats the address of your emergency’
  • I said ‘he’s getting the sh*t kicked out of him’ on the radio and didn’t notice till the unit asked me to repeat
  • Gibberish/Word Vomit/Brain Farts. Just hope that you can think enough to let go of the mic
  • Background noise on the radio IS AUDIBLE! … singing has been encouraged.
  • I have yet to accidentally say ‘I love you’ to one of the responders.
  • I’ve asked a male patient if he was pregnant.
Leave a Reply

